The bulk of the collection centers on the Federal occupation of New Bern in the 1860s and institutional records related to the reconstruction of Tryon Palace in the 1950s.
Archives and manuscript collections are available by appointment.
The Occaneechi and Eno were the first residents of present-day Durham County.
Different from the Iroquois and Tuscarora, the peaceful Occaneechi migrated to Virginia as European settlers settled the area in the mid-eighteenth century.
Presently, Durham County continues to boast in its economic productivity and thriving medical institutions.
North Carolina History Research Paper Long 1000 Word Essay Double Spaced
The Research Triangle Park, a central hub for businesses, research organizations, and other innovative companies, stretches into northern Wake County and southern Durham County. “Durham History at a Glance.” The City of Durham website. The Carraway Library was named in honor of Gertrude Sprague Carraway (1896-1993) who led the effort to restore Tryon Palace and served as its first director.For over forty years, the Carraway Library has been a continuing resource for Tryon Palace staff, community members and visiting researchers.Duke Hospital, along with other healthcare facilities, have long established the city of Durham as a leading medical provider to the state and the entire nation. Durham is home to Duke University, North Carolina Central University, several historical sites, and cultural institutions. The Eno lived on the eastern side of Durham, and John Lawson encountered the tribe upon his survey of early North Carolina.Like the Occaneechi, the Eno moved with the Catawba tribe to live in South Carolina as the white man moved into the region.These materials are non-circulating and are available by appointment.The Archives at the North Carolina History Center consists of letters, diaries, photographs, account books, and other ephemera.German, English, and Scotch-Irish settlers were the first Europeans to inhabit Durham.Most of the families who sought to dwell in Durham received land grants from the Earl of Granville, the Lord Proprietor of the Carolinas.